After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Everyone has their own lifestyle, and it is difficult to accommodate all of them. Some people believe that students should take a year break following their high school before starting their work or university. On the other hand, I believe that students should start working or studying undergraduate level after finishing the high school. There are some reasons why I feel this way, which will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the modern world is competitive, and students will lose their professional and academic opportunities if they take a long break following graduation. To be more specific, over the past few decades the number of graduated students who are unemployment have increased because there is not enough job opportunities for them. Moreover, having a year off after high school will destroy some funding opportunities because many professor are willing to work with enthusiastic student who want to start university immediately after finishing high school. My own experience is a compelling example of that. After finishing high school, I found a job in a technology firm, but I preferred to take a break to relax before starting the work. When I returned my country from Denmark, I did not find a proper job because for a specific position there were about twenty applicants. I would have had better professional opportunity if I had started working after graduation.

Second, being away from academic environment will change study habits of students, which will lead to some major problems. After taking a long break following high school, students will be lazy to start studying their lessons, and they prefer to postpone it for several years. Moreover, student forget some fundamental academic subjects which is mandatory for upper academic levels. For example, when I arrived from a foreign country that I mentioned above, I preferred to continue my academic studies because of the lack of job opportunities. During the first semester, in particular, I had major problems to solve long divisions. Since it was a fundamental math knowledge, my professor suggested me to take pre-mathematic class which cause a long graduation period and low grades. As a result, this long vacation brought about some detrimental consequences for my academic life.

In conclusion, considering all the above mentioned reason, I believe that students should start working or studying in university after high school. That is because they can find better jobs as a result of high competiveness, and also do not forget their lessons.