Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a famous saying that: " How they did is more important than what and when they did? " Although some people might believe that learning factual information is more crucial than understanding concepts and ideas, I do not accord with this notion. In my eyes, understanding the logic and rationality behind a theorem is far more significant than the theorem itself.

To begin with, a mere memorization of the facts and dates of events do not fetch any good. Rather, it is the concept and idea of the event that makes us gain useful insights. To illustrate, an aspiring pilot studies the " Laws of Thermodynamics " and the " Law of Gravity." However, these could not be understood unless we study their real-world applications. A rocket, an airplane, all work on this principle. If he is not familiar with these topics on a conceptual level, he cannot think of becoming an aviation pilot. Thus, he needs to know the idea of design and the concepts used in the mechanics of aviation.

Probing ahead, take another example of how the asteroid belt was discovered. Distances between the Sun and various planets were calculated mathematically, and then put together to expect some celestial object at the estimated distance. The concept was correct and it led to the discovery of asteroid belt. Had the discoverer simply memorized the distances and orbit revolutions of planets, we would not have been blessed with revelation of interesting aspects of astronomy.

Furthermore, the subject of history is no exception to this idea. Learning about Battle of Waterloo or The Nazi Movement is important for extracting valuable information about ideologies of the politicians at that time , the strategies they used to win the confidence of people, and most significantly analysing and assessing the strenghts and failures of the battles. Hence, getting well-informed with the concepts and ideas behind strategies used in ancient times is of primary importance than ratification of the dates when these took place.

In conclusion, students must invest their time and energy in understanding the concepts and ideas than memorizing and repeating the facts.This is because it lays the foundation of all that has happened and will happen. Therefore, in order to have a better comprehension of what they study, pupils must deep dive into understanding the concepts.