Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt in the fact that recreation is something that everyone desires and infact everyone needs.While some people might believe that people thee days invest a lot of time in practising what they love, I do not accord with this notion.This is mainly due to the fact that people do not have so much leisure time thses days that they can afford spending on pampering themselves.

To begin with, most of the people are engaged in nine-to-five jobs.Additionally, they get a lot of stuff to work from home.Hence, the so called humans have now become robots who are forced to work twenty four by seven.Thus, the question of taking some time for personal enjoyment seems absurd.For example- my father works in a multinational company and he has so much stuff to work on that he barely gets time for us.He is always engrossed handling clients and attending meeting calls.In other words, these "human machines" rarely get a vacation, even if travelling is their hobby.

Probing ahead, take the example of my close friend.He is extremely talented in arts and is a proficient guitar player.He always aspired to become a professional guitarist.Nevertheless, he could not earn a penny from his first job as a guitarist.Consequently, he gave up his hobby and his passion and took job in a news agency as a press reporter to earn bread and butter for his family.Now, he rarely finds time to comfort himself by playing his favourite guitar chords.Hence, it can be easily drawn out that the things people are fond of often have to be sacrificed.Therefore, the question of devoting time to personal enjoyment seems to me clearly vague.The pace with which the world is rushing clearly deters people from getting some me-time.

In conclusion, people devote a huge chunk of their time in doing what they ought to do instead of pursuing activities that they have a proclivity for.This is because of the hectic schedule that these workmen possess.Thus, people do not spend too much time on their personal enjoyment.