Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a well known quote called "Time is money" and everyone admits that nothing is more precious than time in our life. Although, some people believe that, now a days people are not utlizing their time wisely, rather wasting on mere enjoyment, however, I think that in recent days, people have become more serious about their life. I firmly belive this way because of number of reasons and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, in today's world, job market has been highly competitive and consequently, that has changed the way people use to spend earlier days. Everyone has become very focused about their career and always strives to achive their best no matter in which field they are in. The technological advancement has provided various platforms to learn new things which has accelerated the pace of human being. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, just after my graduation, I got an offer from a product based company with INR 17 lpa annual income and as a fresher, in my country it's quite a good amount. But I never forgot my desire to pursure higher studies. During my tenure in that company, I constantly studied for the entrance exams in parallel and as a result, I couldn't get enough time for enjoying. For this reason, I believe that If I had never pushed myself to achive more, I would have settled in that monotonus job.

Secondly, I think apart from their daily job, people are more inclined to continue with their hobby over the weekends. Moreover, they are doing it very gracefully and with high dedication. Now a days, it is very often, that a software developer plays flutes, guitar even sings on concerts over the weekend and making money out of that. Drawing from my personal experience, my father was a professor of business management in a very reputed university, inspite of that he managed his time to look after our family business along with grandfather over the weekend. Furthermore, currently people always tries to open up a secondary way of earning. Hence, it is certainly clear that now people are spending thier precious time very carefully, instead of wasting just for personal enjoyment.

In light of the above mentioned passages, I strongly believe that human being has now become more careful about their life.