Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

These days, our life has dramatically changed rather than 30 years ago. New technologies have made new lifestyle which have effected every ones' aspect of life. None of the traditional rules can be effective, and people are likely to follow the new rules. The most important changes are related to families. In the past, families have a vital role in forming of every one's identity, but today, it has evolved to friends, society, and of course new media. So families cannot be effective in children's decision no more. So I agree with the statement.

These days, extensive information resources are available, and people can access them in a fraction of time by the internet. So people, especially youngers who are more involved to the technologies, are more intelligent, and as most of people are educated, they are intellectual, and regard every one's freedom. So parents accept their children's ability for forming their life. For example, in the past, most people were farmer, artisan or labor. Rate of educated people were low, and the more experienced people were more reliable for consulting, and making decision. So as youngers have no experience and sufficient awareness, they had to follow their parents' decision.

Beside, now, people are more occupied with different problems such as daily duties, career, financial and personal problems. They have less time for allocating to their families. So children spend most of their time at school with their friends, or alone. This circumstance makes them so independent since childhood. So they are more able to decide for themselves, and also as parents are involved out of home, they can rely on their children's ability. Although children are more in danger of detrimental problems, they will have more opportunity for error and trial to be appropriate for making decision.

Furthermore, as I mentioned, by developing technologies, people's lifestyle have changed. These days, people have different and various communication with others. There are various devices for communicating such as; cellphone, internet, and social media. These situations have made people more social. They can communicate with others more easily. So they need more decision in their communication, for instance, in the past, especially in traditional countries, boys had to follow their parents decision for marriage. Their mothers proposed girls, and they had to obey due to lack of relationship, either girls did, but now, people have different situations for meeting people and then making decision, and families rely on them.

To sum up, every ones are free to decide for their life. No one can know them better than themselves. They are aware of their interests, characteristics, and situations. Although parents are closer ones to children, they cannot decide as well as themselves. As I mentioned, the advantages of this situation outweighs the disadvantages. They will learn the life matters by error and trial, as all the people have learnt during time.