education

In today’s modern and sophisticated world, education is of paramount importance in children’s lives since it helps them achieve prosperity in their professional and personal lives. Being the closest people surrounding children, parents play a significant role in their educational affairs. With this in mind, some people believe that today’s children are more provided with the parents’ assistance to do homework; however, others hold the opposite side, stating that previous generations were more involved in children’s education than contemporary ones. I, personally, agree with the former group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, nowadays, the vast majority of people have high social awareness and are utterly aware of the positive effects of education on their children’s lives. To be more specific, over the last three decades, due to different information resources, such as mass media, newspaper, and instructive conferences, parents have got acquainted with the paramount importance of being educated. They know that their children’s professional future depends on how educated they are when they enter the workforce. For example, only rarely is an ill-equipped person hired in well-paid jobs since managers and supervisors are looking for educated personnel. Consequently, they exert themselves not only to encourage children to study more diligently but also to collaborate with them to accomplish homework and give them a helping hand in their education matters. By contrast, in the past, being oblivious about the advantages of education, parents were not inclined to aid children with their assignments, nor did they want them to go to school. In fact, most of the parents back then forced their children to work on their subsistence farms instead of stimulating them to go to school. Not only that, but they behaved education with disrespect and considered it as time-consuming work.

Secondly, parents are much more educated nowadays compared to previous generations, making them able to help their children in their study materials. To elucidate, these days, education is more convenient than it was in the past. In other words, people today have access to top-notch educational centers to become educated, resulting in a significantly high literacy rate in society. Needless to say, educated parents are qualified to assist children and get involved in their education. The more educated parents are, the more they are able to offer their helping hand to their children. On the other hand, previous parents were so illiterate that they were unable to have a just shallow understanding of textbooks. Statistics have shown that the rate of parent’s assistance in the children’s education has increased by more than sixty percent over the past two decades. This is compelling evidence to substantiate how helpful and supportive today’s parents are in the children’s learning process.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that parents in the past were involved in children’s education much less than current parents are. This is because not only people’s awareness has now increased in comparison with the past, but also a vast preponderance of parents have high university degrees, causing them to be able to help their kids.