The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

After the 20th century, the amount of nuclear family has increased, finally, the form of the family occupies the majority rate in many countries such as United States, Canada, and Japan.

There is the question that is the extended family less important now than it was in the past.

I strongly disagree with the question. I would like to explain the reasons to support my opinion.

What are the family’s roles? Some people say that the important roles of the family are that keeping the children in the safe area, taking care of them, telling the knowledge and traditional culture to the next generation. In the point that tells the wisdom of the culture, only grandparents can tell the story of the history of the family to children since they have experienced in real time.The stories from the grandparents are priceless. They can tell how societies have changed, what is the family, and the importance of the traditional culture. They help a lot to children and young people to compose their identities that who they are.

The communication with the extended family is really important for kids and young people. For children, the communicating with them is really good training to get along with the adults and people of the different generation. They can learn how to greet with new people, find common topics which they are interested in and talk them nicely. For young people, they get the experience that how to treat babies and kids. It will help them when they will get the child in the future because they already know how to take care of the baby.

In conclusion, the importance of the extended family is as same as it was in the past. The extended family works as important roles for especially young kids and young adults.