People have a lot of opinions about the value of advanced education. Which do you think is the most important reason to attend college or university?

Nowadays, more people opt for university education. Some people attend university to gain new experience; some do it for career preparation, and many complete the university education for expanding knowledge. In my opinion, laying the foundation of a career is the most critical reason. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the essay.

First of all, Having a university degree is the bare minimum qualification of a job in modern industry. There is so much competition in the job market. Hence, the first criteria for shortlisting the candidate for a job opening is a minimum of an undergrad degree. These days, having a high school diploma can only give a low-paying job. So young people need to get a degree for a better career and life. My personal example is a compelling illustration of this. I have acquired excellent development skills by self-study and contributing to the open-source project in GitHub. However, when I send my resume to the companies. I never received a call from them. Then I got myself enrolled in computer science undergrad course. Was only having a degree in my resume changed the whole scenario for me. I had received a call from most of the companies.

Second, universities campuses provide an excellent place for networking. Networking offers one of the best ways to launch a career in any particular industry. On college campuses, various events happen years around. Industry professionals and academic experts are generally invited to these seminars. This provides a path for the student to connect with the experts. For Instance, I participated in a hackathon at my campus. Thus, I got a chance to communicate with a representative from Google. We talked about my project and worked environment at Google. Later this connection helps me by referring to a job opening at google, which ultimately leads to a job offer. If I had not attended that hackathon, I would not have received that job offer.

Third, College provides an opportunity to improve soft skills, which is considered one of the critical factors in a job interview. Many of us lack soft skills. University gives a platform to work on these skills. At any campus, there are hundreds of clubs. Students join a club of their interest. These clubs remove our shyness and improve public communication skills significantly. For example, I was always felt nervous at public speaking events. When I was a freshman, I joined the debate club of our university. As a result, slowly, I have improved a lot in speaking at a large gathering. This also boosts my self-confidence. This skill helped me at the group discussion round of the job interview.

In conclusion, I consider that improving career perspective is the primary reason people attend the university. This is because a university degree is a minimum requirement for a better job, and the campus provides a networking stage. It also helps us in enhancing our soft skills.