It is easier to become an educated person now than in the past?

As is known to all, receiving education has always been the main way for us to acquire knowledge throughout the human civilization history. Recently there has been a hot debate whether education today is more accessible to the public than in the past. As far as I am concerned, there is no doubt that people nowadays have much easier access to education with the following reasons.

To begin with, the advent of various high-tech products has enriched the ways and approaches to receive education. Obviously, with the introduction of advanced means of education, educational resources take on multiple forms such as distant education and online study, which make knowledge more accessible to us. However, in the past, the only way to get educated was to attend classess in traditional schools, which definitely increases the difficulty of gaining education. For example, in the process of making preparations for TOEFL test, I want to take class in Beijing New Oriental School. But I am an undergraduate student of a university far away from Beijing. Meanwhile, due to the academic pressure from my college study, it is impossible for me to take a month off and to have an intensive course in Beijing. Thanks to the online courses, I can take these classes in my college while handling the tasks and assignment from my field of study. The online courses make possible the in-time response to my questions and online submission of assignments.

Secondly, since more and more importance is being attached to education, it is much easier and essential to get educated than in the past. Under the society full of intense competition, acquiring formal education has become the essenital precondition for anyone to make a living. As a result, the public awareness of receiving education is much stronger than before, leading to a common phenomenon that an increasing number of parents send their kids to study abroad. However, in the bygone days/in the old days, the requirement for a person was not as strict as it is today, with the result that less attention was paid to education. According to a survey conducted by the National Educational Department in China, the number of students who take the national college entrance examination has risen from 88.3% in 2008 to 92.5% in 2013. Meanwhile, another research shows that the literacy rate in China has increased by 23.6% in 2013 compared with 61.50% in 1993. The above data has shown that the number of educated people has gone through a dramatic rise, which indirectly indicates that education now is more available to the public.

Admittedly, some areas in the world may be cited as an exception. For instance, people in the war-stricken areas including Iraq and Syria do not have easier access to education and some of them are even on the verge of starvation. In these areas, the current educational situation is not better than that in the past. However, such cases only occupy such a tiny percentage of the global population that they can be neglected.

In conclusion, I believe that it is much easier for the public to receive education than in the past with the aid of technology and the awakening sense of education.