Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
The world is changing fast, to get succeed in the future career path, we have to adapt
and change with the times, which require us to add more value to ourselves.
Someone claims that in the workplace, excellent interpersonal skills are more
significant than spending more time in school. Personally speaking, I definitely agree
that the ability to relate well with others has a greater influence on future success.
To begin with, the ability to maintain a good relationship with others means better
teamwork. Nowadays, cooperation gradually becomes an indispensable part of
companies. Usually, we can see a manager assigns the project to a group of people to
handle. In such a working environment, although personal ability is still highly
appreciated, the team always comes first. For that reason, being able to get along well
with the members helps to tackle it. In my experience, once I worked with a group in
the civics class, and at that time, I was poor at English, however, I was able to timely
communicate with my members and take their advice. Eventually, we got through
the project harmoniously and received a good grade, which all owed to the nice social
skills.
What’s more, outstanding interpersonal skills also contribute to winning over
customers. Under the pressure of today’s market, numerous novel companies emerge
in an endless. All enterprises are expected to make more revenue, which means the
more customers you get, the outlook would be better, and if you are able to gain their
trust and like, you will be highly appreciated by your boss. In this case, the employees
who are more able to communicate with customers, understand their needs and have
better attitudes could attract more clients, which would have a larger chance to get a
promotion.
Moreover, most of the occupations do not require the knowledge imparted by
teachers at schools. For instance, it is impossible that all the students, whose major is
anatomy, can take jobs in the science laboratory or be a professor in universities. On
the contrary, most of them have to get jobs that are no related to their professional
knowledge. As a result, working hard in a study for having a high performance does
not make sense while they are working.
In conclusion, studying hard is not always an efficient way to make greater
achievements. Instead, the ability to relate well with others could bring more
benefits to the workforce.