It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

We meet plenty of people in a day and a few of them may become our good friends. As we move forward in our life, we make new friends, but it doesn't imply that we replace with the old ones. I disagree with the statement that it is more essential to keep old friends than to make new ones. Sometimes new friends play a more important role in our life then old friends. New friends can be physically present when we need help, they can help to get adapt to the new place, and they help users to learn new skills and enhances our existing knowledge.

First, we cannot categorize our friends with their importance. Either they are old or new, they have an important role in our life. We cannot just always rely on old friends because there will be some situations when we cannot be in contact with our old friends. Though communication does not seem a problem these days with mobile phones and the internet, physical distance imposes certain restrictions. Even though there will be some situations where you require the physical presence of your friend. For example, when I moved to a different town for my graduate studies, I needed help in studies for my final exams. In that situation, my new friend Cristopher was able to help me. As I mentioned above in certain situations we have to make new friends adapt to a new environment.

Second, making new friends is sometimes necessary because they can closely relate to our current situation. For example, I recently moved to the USA, and I am working as a physical therapist. I have made new friends help me to understand job protocol, work culture, patient interaction, etc. In this situation, I cannot ask help from my old friends because they might be not aware of the solution to our problems, and they may not physically in close proximity. When we make a new friends, then it does not imply that we suppose to forget our old friends.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is important to make new friends. It helps to get familiar with the new environment easily. Further, new friends are near to us, thus they can physically present to solve problems. At last, as you make new friends in life, it will help to broaden our horizons.