Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of sharing a room with a fellow classmate while being in the university. If I were asked, I would definitely support the university's decision for assigning a student to share my room. I firmly believe this way for a number of reasons and I will develop this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, everyone aims to enter a university in order to gain knowledge and moreover, a degree. Sharing room has a great advantage in education as well in terms of group study. Students will be able to discuss their ideas and thoughts any time at their convenience and consequently will be able to make their concepts more crystal clear through discussion. Moreover, they will be able to seek help from each other if any of them are unable to attend any classes due to some circumstances. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, during my engineering days, I used to share my room with my friend, Rita. We made it a habit to discuss 2 programming questions everyday during our final year and more specifically, before placement and it helped us a lot while landing a job just after our graduation. Moreover, we used to be involved in group projects which were part of our assignment indeed and as we lived together, we were able to work any time regardless of late night. For this reason, If I was given an option to share my room with my mates, I would love to do that.

Secondly, when we live apart from our family, though it makes us independent and hard working, sometimes we face a lot of problems while maintaining everything on our own. While staying in a dormitory, if students can live in a shared room, they can distribute their responsibilities of regular household work like cleaning, washing etc among each other and in that way, they would be able to save some of their precious time. Drawing from my personal experience, during my college days, me and my friend used to divide our common works specially, during exam days. Moreover, sometimes due to our hectic days, it was a great benefit to have someone always beside me with whom I can share anything and that gives a lot of mental support. Therefore, it's clear to see that, If I had not shared my room with my classmate, I would have missed those memorable and beautiful days in spite of being hectic.

In light of the above mentioned passages, I strongly believe in sharing a dormitory room at university between two students.