TPO 41

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There may be controversy about whether teachers are more appreciated in the past in comparison to the contemporary age. Personally, I agree with the statement because we observe less putting importance onattaching importance to education system and also many kids and parents found an alternative for teachers which are computer and internet programs. In addition, students have less respect for a teacher in a classroom than before.

Generally, the teachers, at least in my society, are less respected in the society. Many individuals and organizations who are interacting with teachers do not consider the occupation as a respectful job. For example, the government and the Department of Education pay less and less attention to the well-being of the teachers. Many teachers are working hard to raise a well-educated generation of adolescents in the society but lack an appropriate system of supporting for a good life conditions. For instance, many of whom are obliged to commute a long distance in remote villages in harsh wheather conditions but they are deprived of support from agencies and government. The govenment can either provide them with a residential housing in remote villages or provide transportation facilities such as private cars. Additionally, nowadays many students become rude in the class. They do not consider teaching as a respectful job to which we should respect a lot. I had observed many inappropriate behaviors from students when I was in high school and secondary school. Even many students physically used to fight with their teachers. So, in the society, the teachers are not respected as they deserve.

Second, nowadays many students and parents are using the internet and software programs to learn many subjects related to their lessons. In fact, teachers are going to be replaced by these programs in education. For example, many TV advertisements are being showned about educational packages which are sold at a specific price. Also, the internet programs and websites are widely being used by many members of society in order to learn new things and skills. Regardless of its advantages and disadvantages, these programs fade the role of teachers in the process of education and in the society. Students gradually forget the importance and value of their teachers. Actually, this is the repercussion of the new technologies which should be separately discussed.

All in all, I think that nowadays teachers are less appreciated by society because the ways of learning, thinking and behaving has been altered in the social system.