You have long been friend with someone. If they do something that you don’t

like, should you still be friends with him or her

Undoubtedly, when our fellows do something we don’t like, we may be very angry even be outraged initially and tend to break up the friendship. However, the friendship is precious which needs us to cherish. Hence, I could hardly agree more with the statement that if my friends do something I don’t like, I should still be friends with him or her, the reasons of which would be illustrated as follows.

Initially, effective and prompt communication is an integral part to maintain the precious friendship. To state it more clearly, it is common that my friends do something which makes me feel unhappy. If I could communicate instantly and reduce misinterpretation between us, we could continue be fellows. For instance, my roommate took my laptop since his laptop was broken. When I went back to my dorm, I found that my laptop was disappeared. I could not find my computer until my roommate came back. I was outraged at first because he did not tell me and used my personal things. However, he told me that he had send a message to my cellphone and he was hurried to do a presentation. Finally, he apologized to me and I forgave him. Accordingly, only if we communicate instantly and effectively, can we maintain a life-long relationship.

In addition, if we learn to treat things from others’ perspective, we could maintain our friendship with our friends even they do something we not agree with. For example, my co-work, Sandy. She is also my best friend. We work in the same corporation but we are not in the same sector. Once, I applied a certain amount of budget to advertise. Whereas, she disagreed with my application and reduce half of the budget, which made me angry at first. Whereas, from her standpoint, she worked in the cost-control department which aims to control the cost in our firm. It is reasonable that she cut off my application for budget and required me to make a new one. Eventually, we kept our close rapport with each other. Hence, but for the idea of treating things form others’ perspective, we could not have maintained such close rapport with Sandy.

In a nutshell, which I prefer depends on my own experiences, life-style and emotional concerns. To be frank, I prone to choose the idea that if my friends do something I don’t like, I should still be friends with him or her.