A competitive environment in school and university would bring excellence and need to be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An environment in school and university plays an important role in influencing human behavior towards the society. Therefore, in this case, the environment should allow people in school to develop their individual skills rather than getting busy competing with each other. While some might agree to have a competitive environment in school and university, I believe, having such environment will not lead any good for the people in such places.

Schools and University are the places where one get educated. In such places, if one starts competing with other fellow mates then one might not concentrate on developing their special skill set which he might be known for, but to waste time and energy on something which he is not good at. Also, in this fight of competing one might get emotional trauma hence losing focus in self-development. This overall states how one might get distracted in school and university if competitive environments are encouraged, also it defies the sole purpose of the school and university for what it is meant for.

Furthermore, competitive environment influences a person in school and university in bad ways such as, will not be amicable with the surroundings they live in because every moment they will treat their environment as a competitive ground which is not always the case. Also, such environment will affect one person mind and may always give priority to fight than to understand the problem. As schools and university have the responsibility to not only educate but also to make better humans so as to serve this civilization, competition will not allow such thing to happen.

To conclude, University and school should not promote competition but should concentrate on individual's development which will lead to a better world and better development of skills for an individual.