A government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never before had there been such staggering discussion regarding the money spend by government on railways and roads. In the popular perceptions, money spend on railways brings palpable benefits not only to the society but also the environment. Yet, some people believed that benefits of spending money on expanding the roads outweigh the investment on public transport. In this essay, I will elaborate how developing public transport improve people well being and how building more roads wreak havoc the environment.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why public transports such as railways are imperative to society and the most conspicuous one lies in the fact that public transport reduce people time spend on travelling and also it is convenient for everyone in the society. To exemplify, people from different ages and with different income level are affordable and allow to take the public transport, which means everyone can travel to any places even without driving license and high disposable income. Hence, public transport should be encouraged to invest by public as it brings substantial benefits to people well being.

Another justification for upholding this notion is that the car and other types of vehicle use on roads bring colossal harms to the environment which could be alleviated by building more public transport. As an illustration, the vehicle such as truck, car and motorcycle emit harmful substance to the air, which caused air pollution that detrimental to human health. In order to stop this situation that damage the environment, replacement of public transport is the ideal solution. Thus, spend money on building road is definitely unwise to continue.

Based on the discussion above, the benefit of developing public transport is prominent and should be emphasized by the government, whereas, the road construction should be reduced to avoid cost the society.