Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are role models for youngsters. Do you agree with this statement?

These days there is an ongoing debate between people about following the famous celebrities. While it is possible to claim that our youngsters can learn and get motivation from glamorous people like movie stars, my view is that it can lead to the myriad of concerns for our society and young generation. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing this argument in detail.

First of all, there are several reasons why I am against the adulation of film stars by youngsters. The most preponderant one is that movie stars perform negative characters also in the movies where they portray themselves as a powerful, ruthless and above the law. Therefore, following such people can lead young brains to negativity and teenagers may fall into the bad habits because of admiration of their favourite movie stars. It should also be taken into account that most often, filmstars show a lavish lifestyle in the movies which can divert young people from their life goals.

Second of all, it has been widely seen that the sports stars openly advertise alcoholic beverages and tobacco products which can incline youngsters to try such things. Moreover, many famous sports personalities found guilty in match-fixing charges and other corruption scandals also. A recent example of the famous spot-fixing case in cricket by cricketers who were blindly followed by millions of people and it shows that they have no moral values.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that it is not wise for youngsters to make glamorous persons their role models. Parents and teachers should encourage teenagers to praise those celebrities who are virtuous.