Travelling to study is over-rated. We have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really necessary for tertiary studies?

These days, there is an ongoing debate between people about whether tertiary students should travel for their studies to be brilliant. While it is possible to claim that travelling to study can have more sources in terms of educational research, my view is that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In this essay, I shall explain my point of view by analysing both sides of the argument.

There are several reasons why travelling to study is over-rated. One of them is that tertiary facilities have high standards outside than local schools as they are more expensive. It can also be argued that travelling to study has more benefits to students because they are going away from home where there is much destruction, for instance, television, bad friends. Moreover, it should be taken into account that tertiary education outside your own society provide students to learn other cultures from different parts of the world.

However, those who argue for local studies have a different view and say that it can actually be a positive thing. Firstly, it can be claimed that local studying promotes one's own culture without going outside, for example, going to other countries. Then, there are concerns about promoting your local studies.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of the argument, my opinion is that students should prefer to study in local based institutions as it also provides the same facilities. I would strongly recommend that studying locally brings high standards of education in your own country.