Universities should penalize the students for the late submission of their work. Do you agree or disagree and represent your viewpoints in this regard

Although such topics, in all likelihood, will never yield a consensual agreement, a constructive dialogue, on penalizing students by universities for late submission of their assignments, can lead to thought-provoking discussions. Irrespective of the numerous arguments that exit on either side, my opinion is that we cannot treat all late cases equally.

There are a number of reasons in favor of my stance. To begin with, delaying in submitting assignments is not a favorable action in the educational process, and some penalties should be applied on the students. It is important to note that when regulations are in place with dead-lines for the submission, students are promptly adhered to review and complete their assigned tasks. Therefore, the aforementioned argument shows that penalty is somehow beneficial to stream-line the educational progress for students.

On the other side of the argument is that penalties are important for late submission, but it should be waived for some special cases. First and foremost, if a student has an emergency with proof such as sickness or any other medical reason, the university shall review and assess his case separately and allows him a further extension. This exemplifies that there are exceptions on some special cases for students.

To sum up, there is equally evidence to support the arguments I have provided, and hence, my opinion is that without doubt, penalties are essential in universities, but some relaxation can be allowed for evidenced cases.