Artic deer live on islands on Canada’s artic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough. At least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the decline in Arctic deer populations is as a result of current global warming trends may seem logical at first glance. The assumptions made in the argument must be first, be analyzed and needs to be further looked into, before we can decide if there is a population decline and if these trends have an impact in their hunt for food on ice. The following paragraphs are aimed at analyzing these assumptions.

First, the writer assumes that the reports submitted by the local hunters covered all the islands on Canada’s arctic regions, but what if it didn’t? What if the sample size used for the report only covered a few islands and the results are now being generalized? Similarly, there is also no evidence showing the areas of all the islands on Canada’s arctic region to conclude that there was actually a decline in the deer populations.

Subsequently, the writer goes further to support his argument by assuming that since the global warming trends tallies with reports the local farmers have provided, then there is likely to be a decrease in deer populations. Without a doubt, there is a possibility that this may be true but on the other hand, it just may not. Animals, just like human beings have the ability to adapt for survival, even plants adapt sometimes for survival. So what if these changes favored the deer and they now have an alternative to getting cold plants on ice? What if the deer discovered and adapted to cold plants on the island? so they no longer have to cross frozen ice? Unless the answers to these questions are provided, then there is no evidence that global warming contributed to the decline in the artic deer population.

Furthermore, the author goes on to conclude that the climate-related trends, have affected their migration patterns in search of cold plants over ice; which in turn, would have adverse effect on their population size. However, there is no evidence shown that the deer has not developed new patterns for movement to hunt for food. Also, it is clearly stated by the author that they are ‘trends’ and interestingly, trends change with time, they can last for short or long periods. There is also no evidence shown by the author that these trends occurred long enough to lead to a decline in population.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that global warming trends has an impact on their migration patterns in search for food; which in turn caused a population decline. After all, global warming has unfavorable effects on the environment and can cause changes in the environment, which could lead to a population decrease. However, for this argument to be valid, the writer must submit more conclusive evidences that these factors actually led to population decrease. But without such evidence, we cannot conclude that global warming had an impact on the populations of artic deer.