The following appeared in the City Council proceedings section of the local newspaper in Smithville.

"The city council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes includes hiring more police officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer."

The author concludes that changes in police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force will significantly reduce crime rate in Smithville. His evidence is that recruiting more police officers into the force, allocating more funds for police overtime and indulging officers to patrol more on foot than in vehicles. While this argument may seem logical at first glance, the argument relies on unsupported assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

First, the writer assumes that recruiting more officers into the police force will significantly lower the crime rate. This is a possible solution but on what basis are these said police officers going to be recruited on? Are they going to be tested based on exemplary skills that can make a huge difference in the force? Suppose, that the said "new police officers" are hired and are just as inefficient as majority of the police officers in the force, then the city has done nothing but succeeded in adding just numbers to the force. However, a more logical evidence would be that these officers will be recruited based on standard and transparent policies in order to strengthen the effectiveness of the police force.

Additionally, the writer assumes that budgeting more funds for police overtime will increase the visibility of the police force but provides no evidence of the city's economic status. What if there's a budget shortfall? then this means the police officers are not likely to be hired for quite some time. Similarly, there's also another what if situation that the money budgeted may not be used to implement these strategies. The author would have been considerably persuasive, if he provided evidence showing the accountability of the police force.

Furthermore, the writer suggests directing officers to patrol more on foot than from their vehicles. In effect, foot patrol is proactive because it involves the community and allows them to establish friendly relationships with law enforcement. On the other hand, because of the convenience of technology, police cars are equipped with computers; so vehicle patrol has the advantage of officers being able to easily look up information regarding potential suspects. Because they are both effective, one should not be disregarded because they can be used to complement each other in order to give citizens a perception of safety.

The notion that these changes in police procedures would substantially reduce crime rate can be strengthened by evidence. For example, if a city with the similar demographics with Smithville had implemented all these strategies and it resulted in reduced crime rate, then one can conclude that these policies can be implemented in Smithville and would work.