In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.

The director has highlighted an important method of reduction of patient infections in hospital facility. This is important to ensure that patient does not contract any other disease. However, the argument lacks cogency and is rife with holes and assumptions.

Study revealed that concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean produced a 40% decrease in harmful bacteria reducing chances of patient infection. But this study did not convey other important information. It does not reveal the effect of using extra strength handwash over hand for longer periods. It fails to answer questions like- Does it also target the useful bacterias necessary for survival? In case the handwash damages skin over persistent use, then it puts doctor's and nurse's skin at risk. Also, surgeons require a good hand at work. If this handwash damages their hands, then the damage will outweigh the apparent benefits. Therefore, more study should be conducted on the viability of usage of extra concentrated UltraClean handwash.

Recent tests involving regular strength UltraClean reported lower patient infection cases as compared to other hospitals. It is not clear whether usage of regular UltraClean reduced the number of patient infections since no information about the patients admitted is supplied. It may be because of lesser patients admitted at that particular time or majority of patients with less medical complications. More information is required on patients admitted to obviate any ambiguity.

Tests have revealed a 20% reduction in the number of cases. It is not well established whether the reason for this reduction is UltraClean handwash. Weather also governs the number of infections occurring in an area. During monsoon season, the number of infections rise very high. If the season in which UltaClean handwash was tested was after monsoon, that is, winter, then anyway the number of cases would have fallen due to weather incompatibility of many microbes with cold conditions. Thus, seasonal effect should also be considered before concluding on the efficacy of UltraClean handwash.

The intent of director in taking steps to reduce the number of patient infections is laudable as it reduces the risk of complications in treatment of patient. But the argument provided in favour of UltraClean handwash is not persuasive and impressive enough to coerce people into replacing existing handwash with UltraClean.