The following appeared as part of a recommendation from the financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University.

"In the past few years, Fern Valley University has suffered from a decline in both enrollments and admissions applications. The reason can be discovered from our students, who most often cite poor teaching and inadequate library resources as their chief sources of dissatisfaction with Fern Valley. Therefore, in order to increase the number of students attending our university, and hence to regain our position as the most prestigious university in the greater Fern Valley metropolitan area, it is necessary to initiate a fund-raising campaign among the alumni that will enable us to expand the range of subjects we teach and to increase the size of our library facilities."

According to the recommendation given by financial planning office to the administration of Fern Valley University, the enrolment in the university has decline and they have given the reason of this as the poor teaching and inadequate library resources. They suggest that to increase the admissions to the university they need to organize a fund raiser among the alumni and they would spend this money on increasing the subject and the size of the library facilities. According to me the reasons given for reduce admissions rate in university are baseless and the suggestion which the committee has come up is not apt. There are many reason to prove this.

First, there might be a case that the Fern valley which is a metropolitan area is not growing comparing to the other metropolitan areas of the country. As a result, there are not many jobs available for the graduates of the Fern valley University. It could be that the companies located in Fern valley pays less than other companies which are not located in the Fern valley so the students are choosing the area where they see that they will get the maximum returns on their investment. If the Fern valley wants to increase the admissions than they should work on their placement's and try to bring bigger companies on the campus.

Secondly, it could be the possible that the cost of living in the Fern valley is very high and the students are not able to afford it. So, the students are shifting to the university where cost of living is affordable. It could also be that the university have high tuition fees. So, by increasing the library size they would not be able to attract more students. They would need to lower their tuition fees and start to provide housing at a lower rate.

Thirdly, the reduce rate of admission in the university could be that they do not have a proper labs and latest machine on which the students can practise the real life problems which they are going to face in cooperates or the industries. The university should increase the labs and provide latest machine rather than increasing the courses which are being provided right now. It could also be that the teacher are not up to date with what is going on in the market and they are still teaching according to the old methods. The university should upgraded their teachers.

If the university does all the suggestion given above then it might see a increase in their admission and they would not go to alumni for the fund raising. So just by increasing the size of library and teaching more subjects Fern valley university would not see the expected results.