The following is a memo from the business manager of a TV station:

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The manager of the television concludes that, they should restore their telecasting period on local and weather news more than their national news. However, this conclusion is based on three unwarranted assumptions that, if true, might not hold water.

First of all, the manager is talking about "most" of the complaints. There is no precise number to the compaints. It could mean most of 10 or 5 complaints which are very less to shine light on. It could mean that most of the viewers are happy with the national news only. They do not care about the local news or weather updates because it is a small and safe neighbourhood. Also, the weather condition could be very much predictable. So most of the viewers did not make any complaints to the channel. Without knowing the proper number of complaints, it is tough to say what portion of the viewers are truly unhappy with the coverage system.

Secondly, the manager assumes that the local businesses have abjured their advertisement contract because of the national news coverage only. And only if the local news coverage is increased the businesses will cash in more into advertisement. However, this might not be the case. The coverage is happening late at night. It may be possible that the businesses think that, at this late hour there might not be a lot of spectators watching those programs. So, why waste the money? Another fact could be that, the advertisement budget of the businesses is low this year or they are trying to advertise their product in a new way like newspapers,leaflets or something else. Because adverising into the late night program was not being fruitful upto their expectations. So, assuming that, restoring the time for local news and weather forecast will restore the advertisement money for the television company could be far fetched.

Finally the manager assumes that going back to the previous schedule for national and local news timing will attract more viewers. There is not even any evidence that they are losing viewers. Yes some of them may have given complaints and it has only been a year. There is no mention of the number of viewers declining. Maybe, it has even increased than last year. Maybe its the national news that is keeping them in the business. And with the assumption of getting more viewer, the channel is going to lose more spectators. It could also be true that even if they change back to their former schedule, the number won't go up. Because, whatever the program is on that channel, the viewers are concerned with their sleep only or they are more interested in another channel which is more entertaining to them.

In conclusion, the manager could be very much correct with his conclusion about getting more viewers by increasing time on local news and weather forecasting, but his persuasiveness is not out of the question, if those three assumptions are met properly.