The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. "Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have jus canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Even though the business manager of television station gives his arguments to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. If find these arguments unconvincing and find them fallacious.

The argument states that the television stationn has devoted increases time to national news over the last year during late-night news and also during this period they have received compaints regarding staion's coverage of weather and local news. But, I just don't seem to understand how these two are related. Maybe the complaints from customers would be regarding their inaccurate weather reports or maybe be certain false local news. It is not stated weather the compalints are regarding their timings.

Maybe customers don't care about the increased coverage of national news.

The cancellation of advertisements can also be not attributed with national news coverage. There can be many reasons like there may have been certain differences between the television station annd advertising companies or those companies not having enough funds to continue advertising due to some loss.

To manager should provide the data weather there was a reduction in viewership of late night news but I find this crucial piece of information missing. Maybe there is an increase in viewership and cancellation of advertising contracts is due to increased prices and huge demand which the local business cannot afford. In this case moving back to local and weather news might be deleterious. The manager should also provide information weather they have new advertising contracts.

To support his claims the televison station business manager should provide information about the type of complaints received as well as give detailed information regarding loss of advertising contracts. The claim would be bolsterd if he gave information wether there is a loss in viewership or not.