An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author states that the government of Targus should do all it can in order to promote the new variety of millet developed by an international organization. For this the author has also given various arguments which I find dubious.

First of all the seeds of the new breed of millet developed costs more which may not encourage many farmers to buy them. It is stated that government will may subsidies to farmers for farming this new variety but it is not stated wether the subsidies will offset the additional costs the farmers have to pay.

Maybe, farming these new seeds may require few special techniques and equipments not similar with the one they are used to which will lead to more costs incurred by the farmers which in turn may also increase the retail price of these variety of millet. This may discourage consumers from buying them.

But even if the subsides paid by the government are huge there is a possibility that a huge number of farmers may shift to farming this new variety which may lead to shortage of other farm products and in future may lead to deficiency of other vitamins in future. These huge subsidies may also put a financial pressure on the government.

Moreover, it is also stated that the millet is already a staple food in Targus, that is people already eat them a lot so a even a new millet may not be sufficient in repleting the deficiency. It must also be stated to what extend the new millet has higher concentration on vitamin A. If the difference is not too significant, it would not be that useful. Maybe promoting some other vitamin A foods like carrots and spinach in diet may be more beneficial.

To accept the authors arguments the author needs to provide definitive proof that the new millet is rich in vitamin A than other foods and also that its farming is not that costly and subsidies will not put any financial pressure on government as well having a systematic approach that prompting farmers to farm the new millet will not lead to paucity of other crops.