The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion in the shared memorandum to retract to the former level of time devoted to the local and weather news due to complaints and local business's cancelling their contacts, seems plausible at first, yet when we plunge into the pool of arguments against the recommendation there are a lot of counters to acknowledge.

To exemplify some, the author has shared that the television station has received complaints from the viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news, yet, the author has not shared the contents of a complaint to deduce their type. One may imply the local news or weather news was not as informative as it should be hence the complaints. Also, the timeframe assigned is not a tantamount to efficiency or clarity of news.

Moreover, the author has not shared the number of complaints received, though, one can believe they were many. There is a possibility that the complaints were filed by the local businesses themselves rather than public in general. The area from which maximum complaints are received is not specified. One can deduce that maybe a certain location is constantly missed by the local news hence the viewers want the station to cover them as well.

Looking at the current high-speed of technology development and television becoming a mere commodity to function just as a projector for paid set top boxes. One can explicitly imply why there is a paucity in the advertisement in television. The reason of the dearth in advertisements is low viewership due to platforms like Hotstar, Netflix and Amazon. Moreover, Youtube and Google paid marketing services provides a lucrative deal for local businesses to reach wider audiences and 100 percent guarantee that their ad is reaching the right audience which television can't provide at that extent. Conversion rate and ROIs in the paid medium platforms on internet is also high than Television. Hence, this could be another reason for divergence of local businesses.

Without looking at the television station's profit-loss sheet changing channel's approach won't be a smart approach. One needs to juxtapose the National news viewership along with local and weather news to check if there is a subsequent decline in the viewership or not. Other than that, the news channel should evalutate the profit margins achieved by airing National News. Also, the cause for increasing National news time in the late night program should be interveined and on the basis of the same further actions should be taken.

Since most of the reasons shared in the prompt are questionable themselves, therefore, one can't come to a concerete conclusion. Even if, the time devoted to weather and local news is retrieved to its original it may not prove beneficial to the television station.