The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. " Over the past year, our late- night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our stations coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that use to advertise during our late -nite news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a memorandum from the business manager of a television station, It was stated that local businesses that advertise during the late- night news program had ended their contract with the company and the company decided to restore the time devoted to local news back to its initial time in order to bring more viewers on board and as a result not loosing further patronage.

There was no specific evidence that could back up the claim. It has to be critically examined and evaluated.

Firstly, it was stated that the time allocated for local news was short, but there was no evidence that stated the actual time and period that was used in the national and local news respectively, we cant ascertain it was the time duration, perhaps it could be a rainy period when viewers expected the rain forecast and a little information was delivered. perphaps it coukd be the content and mode of delivery that wasnt exceptional or it could also be an important part of the local and weather news has been displaced due to lack of time which the viewers finds so interesting and educative. Perphaps it was the content that matters and not the time spent broadcasting the news. However, Giving more concise and vital evidence is more paramount to evalaute this evidence and suggest reccomendations.

Furthermore, It claimed that the complaints received were from the local viewers, what complaints were lodged? what excuses were given? Perphaps if we know the exact complain, we will be able to ascertain if the main complains were due to reduction in the local news.In Addittion, It was stated that local businesses cancelled there advertisment due to the complain. Was there a confirmation to this reason written by the directors of this businesses? perhaps the companies lack fund and could not continue with the advertisemement charges, and they had to withdraw there contract.

Also, A time duration was a year, a year isnt enough to come to conclusion about the incident and the causes of diminished return due to low patronage of the television station, perhaps an increase technology or application was in vogue at that point in time where people can check up to date weather informations, adverts from business owners which prompted people not spending time watching the weather and local news as before.

Conclusively, A geniue evidence is needed to evaluate this argument and give recommendation. there has to be enough evidence for us to believe that the time being reduced in local news led to the complaints from viewers and also resignation of contracts by the various business owners.