The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager has stated in the memorandum that in their late night program, they have devoted more time in showing the national news and they have given less time in weather forecasting and local news in the last year. He then argued that they have received a lot of commplaints about the coverage of the weather and local news from the viewers. He also mentions that apart from this, some local businesses who used to advertise during this late night program has canceled their advertising contracts with them. To attract more viewers and to avoid losing such advertising revenues, he has given a suggestion that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, without analyzing the quality of their content, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the business manager readily assumes that the less coverage of local news and weather forecasting in their night program is the issue for the reduced numbers of viewers. This is merely an assumption made without a solid ground. For an example, it may be the reason that their quality of the content for weather forecasting and local news are not good enough to attract the viewers. Their data might be not valid about the local news. The argument would have been more convinsible if the author have analysed the survey about the viewer's complaints.

The second assumption made by this business manager is that many of the local businesses have canceled their advertisin their contract which led them to a loss of advertising revenue. Here, again he provides a weak assumption that the more coverage of local news and weather will be helpful in avoid losing the advertising revenue. It may be the reason that the local business people wants to advertise about their business in the day time rather than a late night program.

After observing above, he loses his meaning to convey the argument.