The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Since there is no relevance found between the cancellation of the adevertisement contracts of the local businesses and timings of the weather and local news, an approximation has been made that the problem of revenues of the news company will be solved by only restoring the time devoted to weather and local news.

Here, no evedences has been provided regarding the sample space considered regarding the number of peoples watching the late night national news versus the weather and local news, hence if the number of people watching the late night national news is more than that of the number of people watching the late night weather and local news it will affect more in terms of the viewerships than the current scenario.

There are no evidences mentioned regarding the financial situations of the local businesses which can help to infer the reason for the cancellation of the advertisement contracts with the news company. Hence, all the factors are not considered while making the assumption that is , "the local businesses has canceled their advetisement contracts because, their is not adequate time devoted to weather and local news.

The assumption of complaints received from the most veiwers regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news, to the decrease in whole viewership of the late night news is also flawed as their is no evidence linking complaints received from the viewers to the viewverships of the late night news. Even the considered sample space is vague as the area of the veiwers, their preferred time to watch the news is not mentioned in the evidence.

Hence , this is a weak argument, and we are not sure whether it will attract more veiwers to the news