The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen

Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer

people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the

percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies

actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not

reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of

our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are

available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to

reaching the public through advertising.”

According to the prompt, it has been stated that a movie maker company’s number of viewers decreased in the last year and the company is claiming now that it has occurred because of lack awareness among the people as they have produced quality movies which also can be proved by the good reviews from the movie reviewers. For this reason, advertising is proposing to spend a great portion of budget in advertising. Before coming to the conclusion, the advertising director’s claim need to answer some of the questions to prove his or her claim is true in every sense.

At the beginning, the director needs to answer that the clarification regarding movie reviewers. It is needed to know, the movie reviewers’ likings and fondness on which type of movies because those movies they reviewed positively, they would have any penchant for those particular movies which did not represent the majority’s opinions. The number of people has reviewed may not be sufficient that they would have come form diversified background and they represent the various taste of the whole society.

Additionally, the economic condition would be a reason for why people are not coming to watch the movies. Though they were positive and aware about the quality of the movies, and wanted to come to watch but their financial capability didn’t support them to go for entertainment rather than buying basic foods.

Finally, it is not cleared in the statement whether the company has sufficient amount of money to spend for advertisement. The more spending on advertisement would cause more deleterious effect on the survival of the company as it is uncleared whether the company should allocate budget.

If the director can give answer to all of these questions and doubts then it could be said that they can allocate budget for advertising.