An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommended in this argument that people of the country Tagus will eradicate their Vitamin A deficieny by using a hybrid millet . Some questions needs to be answered and few things to be clarified in order to prove this argument correct.

Firstly , would the subsidies paid by the government to the farmers sufficient to meet the financial needs of the farmers? The government could pay subsidies to the farmers but there are certain other expenses in order to grow a new crop .Some new crop might need more water and thus more electricity to pump the water, more yielding time compared with the old variant of millet which will further burden a farmer till it got reaped and the quantity of millets produced per piece of land ( i.e. square meters , hectares). Thus, the government need to yield the new millet with the help of the organisation as a trial and should consider all these factors while providing subsidies. If any of these got failed, then the farmers will return to the old ones in the next yielding cycle, which will not take away the Vitamin A deficiency from people.

Secondly , what is the basic amount of Vitamin A a person needed for one person? The organisation should also explicitly educate people on what should be proportion of new millets in their diet in order to combat vitamin A deficieny for all age categories of people

Finally , what if the new crops are more vulnerable to pests ? The officials should research on the vulnerability of the new millet variant to the pests and other predator animals. If the new ones are more weak, then the production capacity might be lowered even though the government providing subsidies.

In conclusion, if these questions were answered , then we could say that the argument is positive.