"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The letter recieved by the editorial of a newspaper states that space flight is costly and dangerous. Considering the success of unmanned space travel, the letter encourages to invest in unmanned space flight as it is short of the risk and cost in manned space travel. Even though the letter makes valid points they are not devoid of assumptions.

The letter states that manned space flight is costly. Here, we donot know whether it is costlier than unmanned spaceflight or not. In an unmanned spce mission, a large amount of money would have to be spent on automation and remote controlling. Assuming that this cost is less than the cost of sending a man into space, the overhead cost of a failed space mission is also not considered. In a manned space mission, a human being is in control throughout the flight and is more equipped in handling a failure of the system than a computer. The human being will be able to make decisions on the fly and with a lesser failure rate. Hence it is more probable that a manned space mission is less likely to fail. An assumption is made that technology is advanced enough to replicate a human's behavior and knowledge. Even if the unmanned space mission is controlled remotely, there is only a limited amount of things the controller can do in case of system failure that has occured thousands of kilometers away. nd

Another assumption made by the argument is that manned space flight is dangerous. Eventhough this would be true a few years ago, technology is making progress in leaps. The technology that goes into the protection of the human is very advanced and it is not safe to assume that the risk involved is so massive that a manned space travel is not a suitable option.

The letter also states that recent unmanned space probes have been able to gather a great deal of useful information, but wouldn't a manned space mission be able to improve on that succes? A person who is trained in the field of study might be more suited in making decisions and recognizing locations which would broaden the information that is already collected. A person who has immense knowedge in the field experiences space live, would be able to make more and accurate inferences of the information gathered. This will only help in fast forwarding the pace at which mankind would learn about various aspects of space.

The letter encourages to invest resources in unmanned space flight. This makes an assumption that we have not already reached to the maximum capacity what information we could collect without sending a human into space. If this is true, even by spending any amount of money and resources, the mission would be useless. This would only result in the waste of these resources which could have been employed in making a manned space mission less dangerous and more yeilding.

Hence, eventhough the letter makes some valid points, it is not sfae to accept them and face value. Thorough evaluation of the assumptions is imperative before mankind decides its next steps into broadening their understanding of space.