Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

A good healthy diet can promote physical improvement and development providing us with essential and important nutrients. The passage makes the claim that, based on the benefits presumably gained from following a certain diet of hominids, if we follow the their way of eating, we could cure many chronic illness. However, the claim is flawed for many reasons.

First of all, it claims without warrant that our bodies evolved to eat the specific type of food which were eaten by the human ancestors. The passage does not provide any evidence regarding this claim. Thus, it is unsure whether our bodies evolved to eat these type of food or not.

Additionally, the passage claim that the bone broth, a particular type of food eaten by hominids, promote health growth, nerve regeneration and heal our joints. However, there could be potential side effects of eating this particular food type. It may promote a good health but there could be some ingredients of the food that may degrade our health. Furthermore, there is no enough proof that, this food habit promote nerve regeneration and healing. It may contain useful nutrients, but in reality to what extent do they affect our health is not discussed.

The passage fails to provide justification to the claim by skeptics as well. They point out that cartilage cannot replenish cartilage in our knees and a healthier brain cannot be attributed to chondrotin. However, is the claim here based in any experiments? Is there any proof backing up the claim? Well, there is no answer in the passage.

The passage many unanswered questions about the anecdotal evidence it talks about in the end. It does not provide the source based on which they came to the conclusion that people who consume bone broth show less metabolic and inflammatory diseases. Was there a survey regarding this? It does not provide any information that how many people were tested and if there was equal number of people for the two groups- one eating the food and other is not. Additionally, because some people showed better results against metabolic diseases does not mean that they will do so against many various chronic diseases.

Thus, as the passage makes many unwarranted claims, the conclusion drawn by it is flawed and uncertain.