Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The success of a team, a organization or an institution compounds on the effectiveness of the leader- how well the leader is managing his team members, how concomitant his judgement of different circumstances is with the success of the team, how efficiently he handles the problems faced by the team and so on. The passage outlines the fact that leader's ability to maintain the respect of his peers is more significant than sound moral judgement. I oppose to this claim for two reasons.

To begin, lets imagine of a cricket team recently has been going through a terrible form. The team has lost all the matches it played this year. The captain, i.e. the leader, who is respected by the players, not only of his own team but also by the opposing teams, has been recently called into question regarding the decision making- picking out-of-form players for the matches. For example, a certain player, the opening batsman of the team, who is a legend himself in the game, lauded and adored by other players of the team, is currently facing a hard time scoring runs. The leader kept picking him for matches after matches although his form is hurting the team's performance. Now, if the leader drops the player for the match, which is the right and moral thing to do considering the form, he would perhaps get a setback from the other players of the team. But this moral judgement could actually work in favor for the team and the new player might perform well enough to get a good score and help the team to ultimately break the shackles of losing. Thus, a moral judgement turns out to more important than maintaining the respect of the players.

Furthermore, neutral judgement of the leader itself helps to maintain the respect of the peers . The respect for the leader results from the impartiality and unbiasedness of the leader. If a leader is disinterested and moral in his judgement, the decision making will be fair and sound and will perhaps bring more success. Eventually, if the a team or a company or an organization becomes more prosperous, every member will be ebullient, as being more successful is the ultimate goal. Consequently, the leader will be vaunted and will be able to maintain the respect of his peers as well. Therefore, moral judgement itself helps maintain the reverence of the peers. But without the sound judgement the leader might struggle to maintain the veneration of the peers.

However, one might argue that moral judgement might sometimes result in degradation of respect. But, if a decision is sound and right , in the end it will work out for better prosperity. Hence, the respect for the leader ,rather than degrading, would enhance further.