Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, it is stated that people should emulate the diet of ancient humans and paleo diets are in vogue, owing to the same line of thought. Such a conclusion has been reached based on the opinion of proponents, who state that human body has been evolved to eat food such as bone broth and doing so would promote health benefits. Also, they suggest emulating such a diet in the current times would prove fecund. The conclusion drawn based on the above premise seems based on unwarranted assumptions, poor reasoning and logical fallacies, that make the overall argument weak. This weakness can be exposed in three ways.

Firstly, the argument makes the most common logical fallacy of correlation-causation. This means relating two incidents that may be independent of each other and may not have no impact on the other. To illustrate this, the point of consuming bone broth is helpful since it contains cartilage, which can healing joints, and chrondrotin, which promotes nerve regeneration. It is possible that these occurrences are mere co-incidences and may not have anything to do with the improvement. It is possible a person consuming bone broth was also exercising that helped in reaching the outcome. Another possibility is that people who are relatively healthier experienced the same since their bodies were more prone to show improvement than others, reducing the above observation to a mere correlation. Had the author firmly established a logical relation between the premise and the result, the argument would have been strengthened.

In addition to that, there is no scientific research that corroborates the improvement in health shown by resorting to paleo diets. In fact, there is a rebuttal put forward by skeptics stating that the human body does not respond in the suggested way to cartilage and chondrontin. For example. a study showing a detailed analysis of the number of people showing improvement in health due to consumption of bone broth along with integrating the study with multiple metrics such as age group, health status, geographical area, ancestral trends, life habits etc. would have accounted for a robust research. Moreover, a trend observing the improvement for a considerable amount of time would have been the right approach. Had the author paid heed to improving the results based on statistical data rather anecdotal evidence, the argument would have held more water than it does now.

Finally, it is evident to see that two eras are not comparable unless there is very strong evidence suggesting the same. The author is comparing human ancestors with the current generation, without conceding to the fact that there is a humongous gap between the lifestyle, eating habits, environmental conditions etc. of the two compared eras. Such extraneous factors can pose a huge impact on the overall conclusion since results may not be identical in different conditions. Since not all eras are alike and we should derive results based only on comparable data, the argument is further weakened.

Although the author tries to make a case for himself by stating anecdotal evidence and observations that inkle at certain conclusions, the weak assumptions and poor reasoning make the argument susceptible to criticism. Had the author showcased information to the questions posed above, it would have been easier to evaluate the correctness of the response. But based on the supporting arguments mentioned here, the argument is too weak to be true.