Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Without respect, the capabilities of a leader can be seriously undermined making them ineffective as such, therefore a leader's ability to maintain their peers' respect does take precedent over their sound moral judgment.

In order to lead effectively, leaders need to earn the respect of their peers. Respect often translates to trust, which is a necessity when leading. In history you can find many cases in which once leaders lost the respect of their peers or people, it was an omen of their downfall. Once they lost respect ergo trust, they lost their power. If their peers can trust in them, then their power as a leader is greatly amplified. The decisions of a leader who is respected ergo trusted will most surely be met with support and not resistance. This in turns allows for whatever system they are governing to operate smoothly - not losing time or effort to mediate bureaucratic backlash which could be the case if the leader were not respected.

It can be conceded that sound moral judgment is an important trait in and often itself, in fact in some cases, it is the characteristic of leader that garners them respect. However, as it does not always do so, it is not the critical component necessary in order to lead successfully. In fact expressing what would be recognized as a reasonable moral judgment call could in fact precipitate a loss of respect if the leader's peers do not agree with it or have other motives. Therefore sound moral judgment is not necessarily the key to an effective leader.

Thus the respect of a leader's peers is more essential to the foundation of a great leader than sound moral judgment. Their choices as a leader will be bolstered by the fact their peers' respect them. The support that leads to is invaluable as a leader and thus a leader's ability to maintain their peers' respect is highly important in comparison to their sound moral judgment.