"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author indicates that for a business to grow, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. The author base his recommendation on the results of a study which showed a correlation between the average number of hours the executives sleep per night and the amount of sleep they need and the success of their firm. According to the study, those who need less than 5 hours of sleep per night has higher profit margins and faster growth. At first glance, the suggestion seems reasonable but there are several assumptions which must be addressed otherwise the argument would fall apart.

The author cites the study of 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives. The study reveals some correlation between the number of hours the executives sleep and the amount of sleep they need and the success of their firm. Even if were to assume that the study was conducted by fair means and the participants were chosen randomly, we still can 't assume that what works for Mentian advertising will work for other firms also. Perhaps, the correlation presented here is valid only for advertising firms and it won't hold for other businesses. The argument will be weakened if this assumption doesnt hold true.

It is also assumed that number of hours of sleep is the single factor determining the success of these firms. Perhaps the executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep are healthier than their counterpart. Maybe these executives are able to work for extra hours which is actually causing higher profit margins and faster growth of the firm. We need to know how many hours the executives work in the office. Then we might understand what is the underlying cause of the success of these firm.

Moreover, the author fails to present actual data regarding the incrasing in profit and growth of firms. For proper evaluation of the argument, we need to know if there was a substantial increase in the profit. It is possible that the increase in profits was only minute. Also, we need information about the trend of profits and growth over a some period. If profits increased only for one year then it is possible that the increase might have been caused by some other factor other than what the argument offers. It would then be unreasonable to conclude that profits will continue to increase.

To conclude, there are several assumptions which if don't hold true would seriously undermine the validity of the argument. The argument can be strengthened, if the study includes executives from other business. We also need to rule the possibility that some other factor other than number of hours of sleep is causing higher profits and growth the firm. Finally, we need to see actual data of profits over a number of years in order to predict that the intended action will give the desired result. Without making a thorough study of the situation, the business might actually incur great loss in hiring people who need less than 6 hours of sleep.