Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The writer of the argument concludes that the so-called Palean baskets were not peerlessly Palean; however, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first issue with the argument is that the writer assumes that archaeologists discovered such a Palean basket in Lithos; however, there is no evidence to illustrate Palean people did not live there or not travel there. For instance, maybe a Palean family immigrated to Lithos and it is their job to made this kind of baskets and sell them in order to had income. Or maybe, Palean people had traveled there and put their staffs in baskets and left them behind and turned back. Hence, it did not prove that Palean people did not make these baskets.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer proposes that the Brim river is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Palean could not have passed it. However, there is no testament to definitely show that this is the case. Perhaps the river was shallow and inhabitants could cross by foot; since that time, as far as water is a dynamic steam, it erodes the ground’s river and makes it deep. Or Maybe there were not a river at all and just one territory had been existed which a natural phenomenon like an earthquake had occurred and water passed it. Therefore, by appearing the river, the area had divided into 2 separately territories.

A third matter with the problem is that the writer presumes that Palean people were able to cross the river just by boats and claims that no Palean boats have been found. However, there is no document to prove that there were only boats for transporting. As far as these baskets belong to the ancient village named Palean. It comes to my mind that maybe folks of the village had supernatural features, like crows which could carry heavy things, and they could send their objects with them to wherever they love to, like Lithos. With consideration to it, boats existences were not indispensable. Or Perhaps, even without believe in supernatural things, boats had existed, but not like the boats we are imagine. It could be possible that Palean boats had made of decomposed materials like leaves, woods, and etc., that it led to leave no vestige behind them. Also, even their used material had not decomposed, perhaps a catastrophic had happened which had devastated every single thing.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be right because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all effaced.