Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The idea of discussing controversial topic between two different ideology people will lead into debate.While both of them strong points which strengthens their view. The prompt recommends that the a few of them will change in their view on the issue when pointed out about their core understanding. On balance, However I agree that the few people change their opinion on topic discussing which comes with valid reasons.

First of all, coming to a common ground on controversial topic is itself is very difficult. People with very different ideology needs to be broad and view the issue from the eyes of the opponent and then may understand the other persons views on the topic, on basis that he took that stand and may assess based on that and come to conclusion. For Instance , In the Cricket the bowler may appeal for out, and the umpire may not give wicket, the bowler should convince captain to take a review, but ultimately captain should assess bases on his view and listen to bowler and take the decision. A very few people come to decision based on the bowler's view.

In Conclusion, Although most of them doesn't change their view on the issue, a very few change their opinion based on the correct analysis on the topic.