The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the petition of city council of Centerville, the author argues that there is increase in the sidewalk rage and suggests that the council must ban mobile phone usage because of that the sidewalkers slowndown or may collide with other sidewalkers.

This argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which this could be evaluated. Nevertheless, the conclusion made by the argument is based on the unwarrented assumptions. Therefore, not convincing as it stands.

First of all, the author assumes that decrease in sidewalk rage in Middletown due to the ban of cell phone usage will also lead to ban in the Centercille. It cannot be same way as it happend in the middletown, there may be other singnificant factors involved that reduced singnificantly sidewalk crime. For example, people in Middletown followed proper sequence and order while travelling on the sidewalk.

Secondly, author assumed that only because of usage of the cell phone the crime has increased, but mentioned lot of property damaged in the petition, which should be properly evaluated why there is lot of assaults and property damages. These people should be properly watched and take critical action may solve the issue.

Futher, it also mentioned that using cell phone has slowed down walk and bump into other walkers, this explaination does not lead complete assault or crime, this can be done decreasing use of cell while walking and this does not explain increase in the rage or crime. It should be properly evaluated and may be with detailed evidence can ban usage of cell phones on sidewalks.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands, to bolster it further the theory of ban on cell phone must be provided with detailed explanation.