Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Mankind is filled with discoveries dating from over hundred decades till now. Discoveries might occur during a field of study or may occur unexpectedly. The author suggests that most of the discoveries are occurred due to accidents. In my opinion, I partially disagree with the author, since there are also discoveries which were based on years of contribution and I would like to stand by my opinion for the following reasons.

To begin with, sometimes discoveries might happen accidentally and it happens mostly in the field of science. For instance, let’s take Meri Currie who accidently discovered that uranium was radioactive. It was when she wrapped uranium powder and kept it under the sun which was by accident. Next morning, uranium disappeared and after careful study, she discovered that paper absorbed uranium. As days went by, the paper disintegrated. Thus, confirming the radio activity property of uranium. Another example would be the discovery of small pox vaccine by Edward Jenner. His city was suffering with small pox but at that time there was not remedy. So, Edward stepped in to provide a solution where he experimented different vaccines that already existed. He used the cow pox vaccine which perfectly worked to cure small pox. Thus, from the above examples it is clear that accidental discoveries are revolutionary and just happened to be coincidences.

However, there are discoveries for happened with years of determination and hard work in a specific field. For example, in the field of technology, nowadays we have laptops and mobile phones, were they discovered by accident? The answer is ‘no’. It took years of hard work and research on a particular idea to create our daily usage electronics gadgets. A well-known personality would be Steve Jobs, who dedicated his whole life in creating Apple mobile phone. He started his company with a determination to create readily available products. He exactly produced products which he had in mind. Thus, from the above example it is clear that not all discoveries are ‘accidental’ discoveries.

Also, in my opinion discovery and creation are different. While creation is used in the field of technology, discovery is mostly used in the field of science. Discovery involves finding a new component or a new phenomenon whereas creation involves ideas or imagination made into practical applications. For example, X-rays was discovered accidently while using Cathode ray tube whereas when we consider a mobile phone, it is not accidental or a discovery but an invention. Hence, subject also play a major role in terming the product or phenomenon as an accident or discovery or creation.

In conclusion, there are discoveries which occurred accidently, however there are also creations that took place due to complete determination and hard work. Moreover, whichever the case is, a discovery or creation are always revolutionary and will change the perspective of people.