In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

As the author states that imagination is crutial part of achieving success any any field, is totally worthy. One should have vision to accomplish specific goals. The sttement can be examined according to different angels but i would say that yes imagination has vital importance in reaching to desired dreams.

Beginning with, there are several fields in which certains goals are required to achieve. Weather it is edutional field or industry, definitely knowldge is essential part but if have vision towards our specific goals then only its accqired. If we consider a student aiming to secure first rank in any school exam then he/she definitely needs to have knowledge of the subjects but before that he/she requires to think and imagine him/her as the topper.

Likewise in any field, imagination has its own importance.

If one can imagine then certainly one can achieve. Your imagination for seeing your company in top 10 companies of the country makes you work more hard and whenever you feel low it reminds you goal of yours and thus again inspires you to work efficiently. Imagination provides latent support to your mind and it is ascertainly true for any human. In case of social reformers, once they imagined about utopia then only they are inspired to work towards it. Initially they don't know how they are going to accomplish utopia but they have mindset for achieving it. Thus, the imagination of utopia has become driving source for them. There are numerous examples that draws attention towards this point.

Considering the other side pf the statement, everything without knowledge is quite useless. If one knows nothing about the goal that he wants to reach to then how he can reach to acme of it. The knowledge can be enhanced to reach to certain peak but for that also basic knowledge must be there within. If one dreams about going to mars from peacefully sitting at home then without knowing anything about the space technology, he definitely can't reach to mars. There is not any metamorphosis that works in this case. Thus, in some fields knowledge has more significance than imagination.

In nutshell, in any field hardwork, determination, luck etc plays a role but without dream of achieving your desired outcome one can not reach to peak of the dream.