A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I strongly agree with the recommendation that the nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. This will help in gaining uniformity in the type of knowledge being provided to all the students in the nation. It will bridge the gap between the concepts that are included or excluded in certain curriculums and not in others.

It will also help the students in coping with the subjects and examination patterns irrespective of where they are placed i.e. even if students undergo a change of residency from one city to another in the nation, in their school years, they will be able to cope up with the curriculum being taught without any difficulty as they will be familiar with it.

It is also important to standardize a national curriculum in order to reduce the bias in the marks obtained by students in various curriculums. Different curriculums have different exam patterns and marking schemes that leads to a difference in scores obtained by the pupils. This issue could be neutralised by implying a common national curriculum. This will also be advantageous to students belonging to higher classes whose admissions are dependent on these marks. A reduction in the difference of scores will lead to fairer chances being provided to all students.

Lastly, backward referencing is a solid concept in colleges, that is, a lot of concepts learnt in school are referred to for better understanding of new concepts or as a pre-requisite for new concepts. Thus, it is important to ensure that students are taught similar concepts in order to maintain uniformity. It will also help to make things easier.

Hence, it is very important to maintain a national curriculum for all the students in a nation until they enter college in order to maintain the threshold of knowledge being passed on to the students. It will help in having uniformity throughout the nation and build a fair structure.