The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The memorandum states that the late-night news program of the television station has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. But this change must have been brought around for a specific reason like there is more content of national news to be broadcasted than the local news and weather.

Weather forecast broadcast can be executed within a small period of time and thus it is justified that they reduced the time allocated to it. Also, if it is a quaint old town or a silent city without any major happenings, it is valid to allot less broadcast time to the local news.

It is mentioned that the majority of the complaints that they received were from viewers who were concerned about their weather and local news coverage. But that could be with respect to a variety of factors like the viewers didn't enjoy the content being covered or the framework of the program being followed by the station while broadcasting these topics or they didn't approve of the reporter. Thus, it cannot be said that the large number of complaints received by the station about the weather and local news was because of their devotion of increased time to national news.

Local businesses who used to advertise during the late-night news program cancelled their advertising contracts with the station. This could have been due to various reasons. There is a chance that they must have received offers to advertise their businesses elsewhere at a lower cost or increased engagement. They may have also cancelled their contracts because of their economical issues or managerial problems. These possible validations weaken the argument that the station lost its advertising contracts because of an increase in the time devoted to national news.

It is not advisable to restore their previous timings in order to attract more viewers or retain their advertising contracts unless and until the causes of these issues are troubleshot and solid evidence is obtained. This is important because the station needs to understand the reasons behind its loss of viewership or contracts and then come up with new strategies to tackle these problems and eradicate them.