The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The given memorandum states that in the past year a television station received increased complaints from viewers, most of which were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news. But it does not state the total number of complaints that were made regarding the local news and weather. Since 'most' is a vague term, we cannot predict whether the complaint count was major or minor. Hence, we need to know the total amount of complaints received regarding the weather and local news.

Similarly, it does not state whether complaints were regarding the decreased time allotted to local news or regarding other factors like the content of weather and local news or something else. Thus, it is necessary to analyse the content of the complaints in order to understand if they are regarding the decreased time allotted for the local news and weather or some other issues. If they are regarding the decreased time allotted, then they will substantiate the argument.

It mentions that most of the complaints received were regarding the local news and weather. But it does not state that the station lost its viewers in the past year. Hence, it is very important to understand the reasons behind the complaints. If the complaints are not regarding the timings, then even after restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, it cannot be guaranteed that the station will not lose viewers in the future. Similarly, it cannot be said that the station will or is losing viewers because of the reduced timings.

The memorandum mentions that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts. But it does not state the reasons behind the cancellation. There could be various reasons contributing to this change like a change in the rate of advertising or other changes in clauses. Mapping the loss of advertisement contracts to the reduced time for local news and weather would be presumptuous without sufficient evidence backing the claim. Evidence that will substantiate the reasons behind the loss of contracts.

Hence, concluding that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will attract more viewers to the program or avoid the loss of advertising revenues is a large leap of logic by the business manager without having sufficient evidence to back the argument.