People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decisions based on emotions tend to sound absurd at first but they are usually sound when logically considered afterwards. While careful analysis of a subject matter based on logic can at times yield the desired goal, they are mostly impracticable in the real world yet people who have based their life choices on emotions have achieved a much more in life. Decisions based on logic may seem sound initially but those made on the basis of emotions are the ones that change the world.

When Martin Luther King Jr, one of the greatest orator in history, made his famous "I have a dream speech", the concensus of the populace was that it was unachievable for a black man to be the president of America, that it was just that - a dream. However, some decades later we were all proven wrong when the young Barack Obama, having listened to the speech was moved and motivated to bring it to fulfilment. Barack Obama acted on his emotions and a few years later, it turned out to be the best decision in his life, second to marrying Michelle. He attained what no other black man could boast of.