Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Persistence and perseverance are the two hallmarks of the human race. Throughout history leaders who have seen their ideas through despite setbacks, criticism, and doubts have often been the ones who have achieved great success. Since legacy is often intertwined with success, great success means an even greater legacy.

Human beings are blessed with the ability to not only break down a complex problem into various tiny problems but also to solve each of these tiny problems and devise a solution for the bigger complex problem. This methodology of solving problems is one that led this world to countless innovations and led to massive changes to shape the world as it is today. However to say this was an easy thing would be a serious misconception. Right from Thomas Edison to Nicholas Tesla, each of these scientists had countless failures, and the common public laughed at their out-of-the-world attempts. Yet these failures and mockery didn't deter them. Instead, they became more resilient until they achieved success and earned the respect of people all around the globe.

Taking the example of the great Indian leader Mahatma Gandhi, who decided that he won't retaliate against the British colonizers with violence. Choosing the path of non-violence, he set out to end British rule. Many ridiculed him and rarely did he manage to gain support in his early campaign. Yet in the face of adversity, he stood tall. He believed that his idea of non-violence is what will earn India its independence and stood by it. As he went on his salt march, people realized what a genius idea it was and joined his march. Seeing lakhs of Indians spurned on by this "laughable" idea, the British not only took notice but also ceded to some of his demands. From there on he went on and on, earning not only his country's freedom but leaving a legacy so powerful that it is unmatched even today. Nelson Mandela was inspired by the great man and he fought apartheid using a similar idea thereby leaving his own legacy.

Technology is essentially an applied form of an idea. An idea that has been scaled to serve a larger population. However, innovation is hardly courted without doubts and criticism. Starting from Galileo’s contention with the religious bodies of that time to Darwin’s theory of evolution; these ideas which had created a legacy in itself were punctured with criticism during the time it was proposed. Nevertheless, Galileo and Darwin saw their ideas. Had Galileo given up and Darwin yielded to the dogmatic notion of that time, science and innovation would be greatly impeded, and thus the human race as a whole.

Human beings are a constantly evolving species. In conjunction with our biological evolution, we are undergoing gradual changes in society, family, and the world at large. These changes might not always be positive, which makes criticism, expression of doubt, and scepticism even more necessary. Nevertheless, the ideas that leave a legacy are pursued by people who are intransigent enough to see it through.