Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

I believe that knowing the past in a company is one of the most essential thing as a leadership from top-level leaders down to a small team leaders.

Those who don’t know the past are scarcely become great leaders, there are few if any. it’s rarely to heard a freshmen becoming a top leader in a big company, assumed that inheritance cases not considered. On the other hand. We have seen most of leadership are experienced people. For example, Tim Cook as a CEO (chief executive officer), is promoted from manager due to his prominent performance. he absolutely understood the past in apple incorporation, the culture of the company and the manufacturing experience. Without the experience and reputation in his company, he is barely to ascend to that level.

Opponents may argue that knowing the past is useless as a leadership to guide the company, what’s more crucial in the top manager level are the knowledge and the leadership. Although it is certainly true that if leading a big company and the chief executive generally does not require knowing what had happened in the past of the company. For example, apple incorporation, one of the biggest mobile manufacturer, hire a selling strategy executive from Burberry and she is obviously not knowing about the past things in apple, but she still gets the position and qualified for it.

Still, even though she may not understand the past of apple, she is conspicuous to know about the past of Burberry and that experience is going to helping her to address the new position challenges. Furthermore, not only the necessity to know the past as top executives, but also down to team leaders. As a team leadership, he or she executes the project and involve the business details. As project goes, the team leader may address the problems which could already happened in the past, if he or she has the experience then the problem could be solved effectively and efficiently. Besides, knowing about the past, preventing the same fault from happening again, it is risky for business running to make mistakes twice and lose the customer trust. On the contrary, if a team leader who doesn’t know about the past could easily make the same mistake again.

In conclusion, knowing about the past is indispensable as a leader no matter what level he or she is in, it helps people to deal with challenges and prevent the same mistake from happening in the future.