Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The university is the center of higher education, and it plays an important role in providing quality education to the students. In today’s fast-paced knowledge-based society, the question of whether universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study is a matter of great debate. I partially disagree with the statement and believe that university students should focus on the courses in their field of study.

University is the most important time of a student's life because, after university, they join the job market and show their expertise, so students should be experts in their field of study to become a competent workforce.

Students should use their spare time to study different courses related to their field of study and acquire more knowledge for their future lives. If students take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study, they will not get a lot of time to focus on their main subject. For example, a computer science student might spend most of their time studying computer programming, but if he takes a variety of courses rather than the main courses, the main objective of his studying computer science will not be fulfilled, and they will not be competent engineers or scientists, and in the future, they will not get a good job.

Additionally, every field of study is vast, and there is a lot of opportunity to grow, learn, and show expertise. If the students take a variety of courses outside their main field of study, they will not focus on their main courses, and new knowledge will not be created by the young researcher. New knowledge creation is fundamental to growing any subject to be updated with the current world trend. That will not develop students problem-solving skills or critical thinking, which will not help them grow in their field.

Moreover, some students who are not interested in their main field of study take a variety of courses outside their field of study, explore many fields, and sometimes find a field that will interest them. All students should take some fundamental courses like basic language skills, math skills, sociology, and accounting courses to make their main subject stronger and grow in their careers. For example, an engineering student should learn sociology to understand the social impact of engineering, and a doctor should learn math to measure different kinds of parameters perfectly. All students should learn basic accounting to improve their financial skills and personal finance. Fundamental English Language class will help the researcher write a more competent research paper, but the number of these courses should be limited and depend on students interests.

In conclusion, university students should take courses outside the student’s field of study if the courses support their main courses and help them understand their course clearly; otherwise, students should focus on their main courses and be a competent workforce.